1/4 mile sprint----- advice please

Hey guys and girls, :)

Im doing the 1/4 mile sprint tomorrow in my old vr6, i have never done it before in my life, can anyone give me any tips advice as the best way to do this and best way to drive ther car ect, revs at starting and best time to change gears eg 4.5k revs ect ect...??? any advice would be great as i have a few people who wanna race me and i have never done this before and relly dont wanna be stuffing it up.....lol :D

Also what sort of time should i be expecting to get in my vr6, its standard apart from the ram-air which im taking with me, as im going to run it with the standard box on and the ram air.....

Look forward to reading your replys :P

Paula

Well....once you've powdered yer nose, adjusted the hair in the "vanity" mirror (rear view), text a few of yer pals ...I'd say about 20mins! !amazed and by that time everybody will have pissed off to the pub! :D:D;);) Only kidding, just taking the piss! :D:P Where ya been anyway, 's been awfy quiet...nae guid banter to follow up on.... ;);)

Best of luck on the quarter mile though, just be aware that it could shorten the life of your clutch dramatically not to mention the box :(

How many vehicles have you, and how many are VR's??

Guest couzens

oh god, please mate don't get me started defending Paula; don't want another argument with Ollie! lol. :P

Paula, from my limited experience (as no doubt acf will correct me) hold first gear at about 4.5 rpm on the line and as you go let the clutch out slowly so as not to stall. Also keep wheel spin to a minimum as this will just loose time, then floor the gas.

yeah, change at 4.5/5 rpm as according to my rr output at Stealth, my and I'm sure most other standard VR's were hitting max torque at that output = therefore why go any higher.

Once in 4th, perhaps leave it a bit longer = 5.5rpm as this is a good gear before changing to 5th.