Tense, nervous, headache....

Or is it Stutter, Flatspot, Erratic Idle..?? ~:(

Here's a query for you all, I notice this topic of Erratic idles, Flat spotting or Stuttering/ Lack of power/economy seems to crop up on a ready basis &| , my question is this at what mileage does this occur is it high or low or what? :(

At the moment I'm just nosey, but may provide a possible theory soon..... :D

Go ahead people... answer away! !dodge

Regards

28v6r

Okay...9 looks like the limit here that are interested in my theory....AND IT'S ONLY A THEORY BASED ON A RECENT INCIDENT. If you look at the mileage that eveyone has, tell me what you see? Its a reasonably high mileage right? OK there are the odd lower miles in the group but the majority are all around the 70k+ miles, as is mine. Nowt wrong there then.. The next part kinda opened my eyes a little and, as a valve engineer I should have seen this logically... It never occured to me that the injectors were a type of needle valve, anyway I digress.

Picture the scene... I'm out enjoying the VR when all of a sudden the car no longer pulls above 3k, it's really lacking in power, at best I could hit 70 and no more, it just wouldn't do it! Fortunately my Passat is debadged so I can blend into the Flat cap brigade and no one is any the wiser! So off to Mr Payne, an EXXXXCCCEEELLLEEEENNTTT Mechy based in Inverkeithing and this man Is Gawd when it comes to these....