hi, i have a problem with my brakes (well i think i do)

they are standard and as new all round,

when i am going fast and then press on the brakes to slow down quickly they go all stiff and seem to lose power of braking, then when i let go of the pedal and press again it seems too soft, what gives???

some mate said its the fluid that needs changing and another mate said the SERVO needs attention

Your best bet is to buy a small kit from your local motor store, they don't cost alot. basically you have to hook a tube upto the bleed nipple on the caliper and press the brake pedal a few times to clear all the air out the system.

There is a certain order to do them in, of which i'm not sure.

I must admit mate, i'm no expert either, wait untill someone else sees this, they may have other ideas as to what the problem is. :-)

ALso, would be better in the brakes section, but we won't hold that against you, :-p ;-)

[ Edited Tue Jul 06 2004, 09:57PM ]

Get a bleeding kit from a local accessory shop. Start off on the furthest from the master cylinder, undo the bleed nipple plug on the hose from the kit, other end in a jar or summit, pump brake pedal at least 6 times. tighten bleed nipple then top up master cylinder and move onto the next furthest away. Repeat process till all four done. Nothing difficult about it. Dont forget to keep topping up master cylinder though.

Get a bleeding kit from a local accessory shop. Start off on the furthest from the master cylinder' date=' undo the bleed nipple plug on the hose from the kit, other end in a jar or summit, pump brake pedal at least 6 times. tighten bleed nipple then top up master cylinder and move onto the next furthest away. Repeat process till all four done. Nothing difficult about it. Dont forget to keep topping up master cylinder though.[/quote']

you shouldn't use the pumping the brake pedal trick on any mkIII apparantly, its can damage the master cylinder.