ZR-1 supercharger - good or bad?

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

only buy a v1 vortech if you know your buying a LOUD supercharger (loud at idle, great at revs), ZR1 is fine if its looked after, 1k is about right depending on mileage, depending on mods, you should expect 250bhp

adiitional mods see more power, ask around here plenty vr owners have zr's, they are easy to fit.

I'm a self proclaimed expert on all chargers so read my supercharger thread and you'll get the low-down on the 'version's' of z-engineerings chargers.

befor eyou buy verify mileage by checking/asking who did the bearings.

raj at ns racing isnt gonna give an honest opinion, since he sells VF kits, stealth is your best bet ;). If it were a v1 you wree buying i could tell you exactly what to look for, but if you can't get hold of stealth, you can PM binliner, he's got a ZR2 *i think* so will be able to tell you about it....i'd trust owners more than people who sell *other* kits, unless it was stealth lol

Valid point and ordinarily I would agree Nerih, but my last conversation with Raj (approx 4 months back) surprised me. I asked about all of the kits and he pretty much summed up what we already know. He didn't slate any of the other kits or vendors either. Vince and his team are great also but I do feel that at times they try to sell you more than you need or ask for. I have asked for quotes on timing chains in the past and they've tried to sell me a complete package of refurbished head etc for

Hi

I've seen a second hand ZR-1 supercharger for sale for £1150' date=' which I think is very steep considering it's the earlier ZR Engineering supercharger which I believe did have reliability problems (although not sure on this). And plus I've heard of a couple of second hand Vortech 1's going for a little over £900.